Home > ActionScript, Adobe, ColdFusion, Flex > Extending CFC – DAO

Extending CFC – DAO

I came across very strange behaviour of extending CFC to another CFC for my DTO’s, which I was using to send data back to my Flex application using AMF.

My Main parent CFC had 3 properties.
I created new CFC and extended to the above CFC and added 3 more properties.
It works fine with in ColdFusion, but when I used it to return to my Flex application with type binding to my ActionScript DTO.
This wasn’t sending the parents properties to my Flex application.
To fix this I had to add all properties in my extended CFC (Child one).

Has any one come across the similar scenario?

  1. August 19, 2010 at 8:24 am

    Did you try creating the same inheritance on both sides?

    so in CF
    Component A
    Component B extends Component A

    And in Flex
    public class A
    public class B extends A

    And then Component B will map with class B – I think this should work.

    • August 19, 2010 at 10:41 am

      Nope, I haven’t tried that, but I will definitely give it a try, thanks Anuj

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

